shared.jpg


If you have elements that are used in multiple places over your site or department, shared content allows you to enter it only once. Then with the use of the shared content widget, be used on different pages. This allows for easy updates since all you have to do is update it in the shared content and the update will be everywhere it has been placed.




How do I add new shared content in Campus Suite?

To add new shared content to Campus Suite, navigate to whichever department you would like to add the shared content to and do the following steps.

  1. Click the green +Create in the upper right-hand corner and select Shared Content
  2. Enter the title of the of the shared content and click the "Save --> Publish" options just as you would when you're editing pages.
  3. Now click on the pencil icon to the right of the shared content. 
  4. After creating the shared content using the available widgets, make sure to click the "Save --> Publish" options just as you would when you're editing pages.

    Please note that if you are creating shared content from an existing page, you will need to follow the directions listed in the Paste from Clipboard article to move the content from that page over to the shared content.






sharedcontentbar%20copy.jpg



  • How do I find a list of shared content associated with a department?
    To see a list of shared content that is associated with a department in Campus Suite, navigate to the department that they are kept in and click on Shared Content in the module list.

  • What does the vertical color bar to the left of shared content's title mean?
    On the left side of the shared content's title you will see a vertical bar, normally this will be grey but it can also be green which means that it is live (viewable by visitors to the site).

  • What is the status of shared content?
    You can find the status of shared content by looking to the left of the shared content's title, there you will find if it is LIVE, if there is a DRAFT of the shared content, if it is SCHEDULED to be made live, if it is SHARED and finally if it is LOCKED, meaning someone else is working on it.
    • How can I find out what department is sharing a shared content?
      If a shared content is marked as SHARED you can quickly find out what department is sharing it by looking under its title for Owned by.

  • How do I set shared content so it is published at a later date/time?
    You can easily set a later publication date/time when saving shared content by choosing Publish Content and setting the date/time you would like it to be made live. Please note, this will not override any dates/times that are set for items such as alerts or shared content, they will still be made live on the times set for those items.

  • How do I revert to an older version of shared content?
    To revert to a previous version of the shared content in Campus Suite, click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the shared content's title and select View Live History from the menu. On the following screen select the version you would like to revert to by clicking on the arrow to the right of the version and finally Back to Shared Content List to return to view the shared content list view of the current department.

    Please note that this option will not be available if the shared content has never been made live before.

  • How do I find a list of past drafts of shared content?
    To view a list of past drafts for shared content, click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the shared content's title and select View Past Drafts from the menu. For more information on the Drafts Menu please visit the article 'What are Drafts?' To return to the shared content ist view of the current department click on Back to Shared Content List.

    • How do I clone a draft?
      If for some reason you find that you need to clone a draft, for example when it has been rejected or closed, click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the shared content's title and select View Past Drafts from the menu. On the following screen click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the correct draft and select Clone Content from the menu, then Save --> Save as New Draft.

  • How do I edit shared content in Campus Suite?
    To edit shared content in Campus Suite, navigate to the department that it is kept in, click on Shared Content in the module list and then the Pencil icon to the right of the shared content's title.

  • How do I duplicate shared content?
    To duplicate shared content,  navigate to the department that it is stored in, click on Shared Content in the module list, then click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the shared content's title and select Clone Content from the menu. Enter the Title of the duplicate shared content and click on the spinning arrow icon to the right of Slug to refresh the slug and then Save --> Save as New Draft or Submit for Publication.

  • How do I move shared content to another container (department)?
    To move shared content,  navigate to the department that it is stored in, click on Shared Content in the module list, then click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the shared content's title and select Move To... from the menu. Finally, select the container (department) you would like for it to be moved to.

  • How do I delete shared content?
    To delete shared content,  navigate to the department that it is stored in, click on Shared Content in the module list, then click on the three vertical dots located to the right of the shared content's title and select Delete from the menu. Please remember once a shared content is deleted it cannot be recovered.




Additional Articles